SSI & Disability Rights

Has your application for Supplemental Social Security Income (SSI), or Disability benefits been denied? Did you know that there are four (4) levels of appeal to that denial?

Level 1

First is Reconsideration. When your case is "Reconsidered", it is reviewed by fresh eyes within the administration. The new review will consider the original evidence presented, as well as new evidence.

Level 2

Second is a hearing before an administrative law judge. At this hearing you can present witnesses, medical experts, vocational experts, and introduce new evidence. The judge will then make a decision based on the evidence and testimony presented as to your qualification for SSI or Disability benefits.

Level 3

Third is a review by the administrative council. The council can deny review of your file if it feels the judge was correct. The council may also decide the case itself, or remand the case back to the administrative judge for further review.

Level 4

The fourth and final level of appeal is in Federal Court. At this stage, a formal civil action is filed. An attorney from the General Counsel's office for the Social Security Administration will be directly handling the defense of your case.

Does this seem complicated and scary to you?

The good news is that you can hire an attorney to help you navigate the sometimes complex and intimidating twists and turns of the Social Security Administration and the US Judicial system. St. Augustine Law Group is here to help!

Free Consultations

We are ready to listen to you! Please contact us to schedule a time to share the details of your case with an attorney!